Monitor Arms

Posted on November 4, 2010

0


I had picked up 2 monitor arms for $150 about 2 weeks ago, I was pretty happy about it. I the found out that my monitors vesa mount is 100×200 which is a standard for TVs and not monitors. The monitor arms mounting bracket supports 75×75 and 100×100 which is no good to me.

What the hell do I do?

I research. Which most people don’t do and usually those people just return the product cause they’re too lazy to find a way to use what they got. After a few searches and refined searches I found that Ncix sold a adapter kit from Ergotron that would convert the 100×100 to 100×200. Great! But the damage was $42 plus tax, which is unacceptable. I saw a picture of the kit and figured I could make it for much much less.

I talked to a few buddies who knew about dealing with steel and gave me their advice. So my friend Walker and I went about it at our local Home Depot and picked up a strip of aluminum. We then measured it up and did it all for less that $20.

Job accomplished.

